city council, school board races set for Nov. 4
Posted on 8/20/2014 6:40:00 AM.
(Seguin) -- There will be two uncontested races on the November 4 City Council ballot in the city of Seguin.
Monday's 5 p.m. deadline drew in a last minute candidate in the race for District 3. Former Mayoral candidate Jeremiah Arevalo officially filed for a seat on the Seguin City Council. Arevalo faces Phil Seidenberger who announced his campaign a couple of weeks ago. Both look to replace Councilman Nick Carrillo who has decided to not seek re-election.
Two candidates have also thrown their names in the hat in the race for District 8. They include local business owners Edward Davila, Sr. and Mark Herbold. The position is currently being served by Councilman Bob Pees who will complete his second term in November and therefore is not eligible for reelection due to term limits.
There will also be two uncontested races this year.  District 5 Councilman Carlos Medrano and District 7 Councilwoman Donna Dodgen did not draw opponents. 
In the Seguin ISD, every school board race will be contested.  
The District 2 race will feature incumbent Ishmael Flores and newcomer Charles Loftin.
The District 4 race has attracted four candidates. They include John Holt, Ann Laird, Dave Gettig and Edward Davila, Jr. Again, all have filed for the school board seat currently held by Trustee Carol Teeple. Teeple did not file.
The District 5 race has also drawn an opponent for Trustee Barbara Effenberger.  Challenging Effenberger for the seat will be Matthew Skinner.
Finally in District 7, incumbent Nancy Ayotte will look to maintain her seat. Those also filing for District 7 include Caston Casey and Lori Osborne.
Early voting for the Nov. 4 elections begins Oct. 20.
general election, Seguin City Council, Seguin ISD Board of Trustees

Find more about Weather in Seguin, TX
Click for weather forecast

Provided by CBS News

Copyright 2014 Guadalupe Media, LTD. All Rights Reserved

This site powered by PromoSuite Interactive