Concert 01, All About Firsts for Mid-Texas Symphony; Four guests conductors to compete for the title of symphony music director
Posted on 9/14/2018 8:12:00 AM.
(Seguin) -- There's always a first time for everything and this year, it's the Mid-Texas Symphony Season that will have plenty of firsts with the kick-off of Concert Season 41 this Sunday at the Carolyn Weston Center at Texas Lutheran University's Jackson Auditorium.

Symphony organizers say it's the first time that they will be doing a four concert series all while focused on finding a new conductor. Guests are invited to sit back and watch and experience "the passion, the power, the perfection each guest conductor wields from their baton as they battle for the coveted title, Mid-Texas Symphony Music Director."

They say not only will there be a different conductor for each concert which is a first but they'll also have a woman conductor on stage. There will actually be three women conductors during this start of the new season.

In addition, symphony organizers say this will also be the first time that the MTS will perform a piece written by a woman composer on the main stage.

They say "it's the first time that we will perform a piece by a woman composer who won the first Pulitzer Prize for composition by a woman. Ellen Taaffe Zwilich won the Pulitzer Prize for composition for her Symphony No. 1 'Three Movements for Orchestra' (1982, Pulitzer Prize for Music, 1983).'

This Sunday, MTS presents Peanuts® Gallery composed by Zwilich. The six-movement piano concerto is said to celebrate the "immutable nature of each character of the well-loved Peanuts’ favorite characters" from the comic strip by Charles M. Schulz. Charlie Brown, Snoopy, Lucy, Linus, Schroder, Pepper Mint Patty and Marcie are all scheduled to make a musical appearance.

Leading this weekend's concert is Conductor Akiko Fujimoto. Fujimoto is the associate conductor for the Minnesota Orchestra. However before arriving in Minnesota, Fujimoto served as the associate conductor of the San Antonio Symphony for five seasons.

The first concert of the season gets underway at 4 p.m. Sunday at TLU's Jackson Auditorium. Tickets can be purchased at or by calling 830-463-5353.
Mid-Texas Symphony

Find more about Weather in Seguin, TX
Click for weather forecast

Provided by CBS News

Copyright © 2014 Guadalupe Media, LTD. All Rights Reserved

This site powered by PromoSuite Interactive