Sixteen Panthers earn All-District football recognition
Posted on 12/27/2017 8:09:00 AM.
Will Eveld                                    Johnny Alegria 
(Photos by Andie Rangel) 
(Geronimo) – Another successful football season at Navarro High School produced a predictably strong showing on the 13-4A-Division II All-District awards list, as the district’s head coaches recognized 16 Panthers for their efforts in 2017.

In a reversal from the previous three seasons, Navarro collected just one of the district’s major awards after finishing second behind Wimberley in the final standings. Sophomore running-back Johnny Alegria shared Newcomer of the Year honors with Llano’s Cade Fly.

Alegria ran for 564 yards and seven touchdowns, averaging 9.7 yards per carry, and totaled 150 receiving yards and two scores on seven catches in his first season of varsity football.

District champion Wimberley claimed three major awards, with Cade Stoever, Jordan Weeks, and Matt Mitchell earning District MVP, Offensive MVP, and Defensive MVP, respectively.

Navarro’s First Team All-District selections on offense include senior quarterback Will Eveld, junior fullback Chris Gomez, junior offensive lineman Wyatt Tate, and senior center Garrett Dietert.

Eveld, the Brown University commit and Navarro career leader in passing yards and touchdown passes, threw for 719 yards and nine scores in 2017 while setting a school record for rushing production by a quarterback with 1,047 yards and 14 touchdowns on the ground. He was honored on the All-District list in all three phases, making the First Team as a defensive back and the Second Team at punter.

Gomez was the workhorse in the Panthers’ Slot-T attack, churning out a team-high 1,152 rushing yards and 15 touchdowns on 185 carries.

Tate and Dietert anchored the dominant offensive line that helped Navarro average 412.2 total yards and 351.3 rushing yards per game.

The Panthers’ First Team All-District defensive honorees include junior defensive lineman Dylan Hatfield, senior defensive end Brady Butler, senior linebackers Tyler Law and Mason McCalip, and Eveld (4 Int.) in the secondary.

Navarro’s Second Team All-District selections on the offensive side of the ball include Law (562 rushing yds., 122 receiving yds., 10 total TD) at running-back, junior receiver George Bradley, senior offensive lineman Colton Barnett, and junior offensive lineman Ty Brumley.

The Panthers Second Team All-District honorees on defense include junior defensive lineman Rawson Young, senior linebacker Stone Sahd, sophomore linebacker Euler Deleon, junior defensive back Bryan Butler, and Eveld at punter.

McCalip, Law, Eveld, Dietert, Jared Cooper, and Brandon Chaney earned spots on the THSCA Academic All-State team.

Eveld will compete in the San Antonio Sports All-Star High School Football Game on Saturday, Jan. 6 at 5 p.m. at the Alamodome in San Antonio.

Navarro finished Les Goad’s 11th season as head coach with an 11-2 record after advancing to three rounds in the UIL playoffs before falling to Cuero in the 4A Region IV semifinals.

Find more about Weather in Seguin, TX
Click for weather forecast

Provided by CBS News

While using VBScript LoadPicture() function, Error calculating dimensions for: E:\www\3592\www\onlinedb\kwedam\pics\CIG logistics.pngInvalid picture

Copyright © 2014 Guadalupe Media, LTD. All Rights Reserved

This site powered by PromoSuite Interactive