Sixteen Bulldogs named to ASC Football Academic All-Conference Team
Posted on 2/5/2019 4:56:00 AM.
(Seguin) – Sixteen Texas Lutheran University football student-athletes have been named to the American Southwest Conference's 2018 Fall Academic All-Conference Football Team.
To be eligible for ASC Academic All-Conference honors, student-athletes must be classified academically as a sophomore, junior, senior or graduate student during the competition season and have been in attendance and completed at least one academic year (two consecutive semesters) at their institution.
Student-athletes also must have a 3.0 cumulative grade point average (GPA) as certified at the conclusion of the academic semester in which the ASC sport championship is held.
Bulldog football players named to the ASC Academic All-Conference Team include:
Cameron Bennett So. Kinesiology The Colony, Texas
Christopher Bennett** Sr. Kinesiology The Colony, Texas
Cameron Bivens So. Business Management Allen, Texas
Wade Cookston** Jr. Applied Physics Sunnyvale, Texas
Andy Day Sr. Accounting Austin, Texas
Thomas Gaither Sr. Kinesiology Jourdanton, Texas
Brandon Hopp*** Sr. Education Leander, Texas
Hunter Jaehne So. Business Giddings, Texas
Manny Longoria*** Jr. Education Geronimo, Texas
Pearce Loth** Sr. Kinesiology Rockdale, Texas
Andrew Lotz** Jr. Accounting New Orleans, La.
CJ Romero** Jr. Kinesiology Odem, Texas
Sammy Romero So. Business Sweeny, Texas
Dillon Samuelson-Hesterman So. Nursing Anderson, Texas
Jason Williams So. Applied Physics/Mathematics Seguin, Texas
Travis York*** Jr. Business Management Seguin, Texas

Longoria, a Second Team Academic All-American this year, is an academic all-conference selection for the third time (two times in the ASC and once in the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference.) The junior defensive end was a First Team All-Conference selection in the ASC and an All-Region Second Team choice by
Senior education major Brandon Hopp and junior business management major Travis York also claimed their third academic all-conference honors. Hopp and York too have honors in the SCAC and two each in the ASC.

Freshmen can be academic all-conference honorees in the SCAC but not in the ASC.
Christopher Bennett, Wade Cookston, Pearce Loth, Andrew Lotz, and CJ Romero each claimed their second all-conference awards.
TLU is a member of the American Southwest Conference in football only. The Bulldogs are members of the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference in all other sports.

Find more about Weather in Seguin, TX
Click for weather forecast

Provided by CBS News

Copyright © 2014 Guadalupe Media, LTD. All Rights Reserved

This site powered by PromoSuite Interactive